Tony La Russa was named the National League Manager of the Year on Wednesday. With the announcement, he became the first four-time winner and the second person to win it in both leagues, along with Bobby Cox. La Russa won it in with the White Sox in 1983 and with the A’s in 1988 and 1992. He dealt with more adversities than most managers have ever faced in a single season. In April, La Russa’s father died. That was followed up by the deaths of Jack Buck, to whom La Russa had become very close and pitcher Darryl Kile who was the undisputed leader of the team. La Russa also had to deal with injuries to almost every member of his pitching staff, using over a dozen starting pitchers this season. The Cards went on to win 97 games in the regular season, to clinch the National League Central title. In the post season, St. Louis made it to the National League Championship Series.