The United States Department of Agriculture has declared fourteen counties in Missouri as primary natural disaster areas and forty-one as contiguous disaster counties. The USDA declaration comes in response to the severe spring weather which included hail, tornadoes, high winds, flooding, and unseasonably cool temperatures. The designation as primary or contiguous counties allows farm operators to be eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency.