The University of Missouri-Kansas City will host a basketball tournament over the Thanksgiving holiday. Eight teams will play at Municipal auditorium in Kansas City, including Southeast Missouri State, Auburn, and Creighton, who all played in the NCAA tournament last year. The NCAA has given the tournament exempt status, which means the three games each team will play won’t count against the 27 games schools are allowed to schedule. The other schools in the tournament will be Furman, Robert Morris, Cleveland State and Providence. This will be the first time UMKC has hosted an 8-team tournament.