Thousands of Missourians are starting the new year by earning more. The state’s minimum wage has gone up by fifteen cents to $7.50 an hour. Missouri is one of thirteen states in which the minimum wage is going up today. The new wage works out to annual earnings of $15,600, based on a forty-hour week with no vacation of sick days. The federal poverty level for one person is $11,490 (the 2013 figure).
Missouri’s minimum wage law, adopted by voters in 2006, includes an escalator clause that re-calculates the minimum wage annually based on cost of living factors.
Some workers fall into a special category, however. Those who get tips can have a minimum of half the minimum hourly wage for non-tip workers, now going to $3.75 an hour. . But the law requires employers to make sure the hourly salary plus tips must equal at least $7.50.
Missouri’s minimum wage is the lowest of the thirteen states with new minimum wages today. Here’s the list:
New Jersey 8.25
Rhode Island 8.00
New York 8.00
California’s minimum wage goes up to $9.00 an hour on July 1 (San Francisco’s minimum will reach 10.74 and San Jose’s minimum will become $10.15 this year), and $10 an hour on January 1, 2015.
The Missouri Department of Labor has a web page for frequently-asked questions about the minimum wage. It is at: http://labor.mo.gov/DLS/MinimumWage/faqs.asp